Two friends wanted to go inside to smoke. I said we had better put our stuff inside the gate as it was still on the wharf. I stepped onto the wharf and picked up phones, cameras, wallets. It was too much for me to carry. The wharf started to float away from the dock and sink at the same time. In desperation I tried to throw everything onto land. My arms were heavy, and everything fell into the water. The water was ice cold. I couldn’t seem to swim or move and drowned, freezing.
With a start I woke up in my grandmothers house. I convinced myself that it was just a dream, and I was under a nice warm doona. I had remembered that earlier that day my grandmother spoke of how she had to keep the shop open that night. Everything was ok.
And then with another start I woke up on the bus in Uruguay.

Leave a Reply

